top of page
Writer's picturehlynnm91

Color Usage

Here are three photos that I'll be analyzing. I will be describing the use of color in the logos, the target audience, the product being offered, and the emotion the logo color represents.


For this first logo I'll be doing the Trix Cereal. The most prominent color in this design is the red background. I think red can symbolize quite a few things in this context. To start with, red is often associated with increasing appetite which would make sense for a food product. Red can also symbolize love and passion, here I think it represents the craving for the cereal. The other major color on this product is green. I think this color was chosen for a couple of reasons. First of all, green is a complimentary color to red, which means that the color pallet should feel naturally cohesive. Green can also symbolize harmony or a sense of freshness. I think the intense saturation of all the colors is intended to draw in children. It seems playful and fun.





This is the logo for Olipop. Olipop is marketed as being a "new kind of soda". The makers of Olipop wanted to create a healthy version of a soda, sweet but full of healthy probiotics. I think their logo fits the idea of their brand in an excellent way. The main logo color is green, which brings the feelings of freshness, health, earth, organic, and clean. The typography is laid out in a way that seems like the brand is a fun twist. Taking into consideration everything I've mentioned about the brand I think its market audience is health conscious adults.




For my last logo, I'll be talking about PayPals logo and colors. Paypal is a money transfer business. Their goal is to make the transferring of money faster and more secure. Paypal uses two different shades of blue in their logo. These shades of blue can symbolize security, wisdom, and a professional or business atmosphere. The symbolism of the blue feels important when you think about what PayPal does as a business. This also comes in to play when you think about the target audience for PayPal, which is people who work in commerce or in a business setting. I feel like PayPal has a well designed color scheme that brings emotions of peace and safety.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page