top of page
Writer's picturehlynnm91

Final Ad Redesign

For my Final project I'm going to be redesigning and ad to a new audience. The ad I chose is for ErgoFoam footrests.





I'm going to start the problem with a mindmap in order to get my creativity going, look at problems and see things from a different angle.




After this is the Planning phase


Planning

Target Market

ErgoFoam’s target market seems to be business professionals in 30-50 age range. The simplistic design of the product and logo, the straightforward business inflection the narrator has throughout the ad, and the colors chosen all give an indication of who the target market is for this product.

I plan to rebrand and remarket this product to a younger audience. My target audience for this product is going to be women in the 18-35 range who spend time at their desk either gaming, working, or practicing their hobbies.

 

Color and Audience

ErgoFoam currently uses a vibrant green for their logo color. This gives indication of their product being used specifically for health purposes. They state in the ad this product is meant to correct posture and pain while sitting. ErgoFoam also used contrasting dark and light colors to highlight the product being used.

For the target audience that I plan to rebrand towards I did research and found that the most popular colors used were pastels, specifically pinks, greens, and purples. I plan to go with a similar color scheme in order to appeal to my audience.

 

Emotion

                The most prominent emotion I intend to sell is comfort. I think with different color and texture choices for this product, marketing towards my target audience would be a step in the right direction. Based off of experience, I can say that I strive for my desk to be the most comfortable and safest place I spend my time in. I spend the most time there working or playing and I want to be surrounded by things that bring me joy and comfort. I intend to appeal to my audience in the same way by using emotion.

 

Color, Line, Layout

                I Intend to use pastel color in my design in order to create a feeling of softness and safety, similar to the feeling of a child’s nursery and feelings of innocence. As for the usage of line, I plan on using a lot of curves. I’d like to use line in a way that guides the eye gently throughout my design without feeling rushed or excited. I want to use layout in the same way. I don’t want to crowd the page or create an uneasy or claustrophobic feeling. Instead I want to use proper spacing and alignment to bring form and order so the viewer doesn’t need to dash their eyes around the page in order to find out important or different information.


And of course here is a photo of my mood board



I also sketched out a few thumbnails




And my final Ad Redesign




Design

Why I chose my colors?

I tried to pick mostly pastel colors in order for my target audeience to be naturally drawn towards the ad. I used a range of colors in the design and a pastel purple for the background. I feel like all of these colors have a soft appeal and a feeling of innocence, joy, and comfort.

 

What is the focal point of the design?

The focal point of my design is the arrangement of footrests spread across the page. I wanted to lay them out in a rainbow type of way since they come in almost every color.

 

How did I integrate design elements?

I used Phi while creating my ad. I tried to give it the appropriate placements in order to bring harmony on the page. I also used repetition and sampled colors to use across the entire design. I also used the same colors in the footrests as the design element behind the header.

 

Why did I choose my pictures?

I had initially planned on drawing up my design in an artful way, but decided it read better if I used an original product image and edited the colors that were suitable for my project. I used the font I chose because I feel like it can resonate with my audience. It seemed fresh and modern with a hint of old school gaming retro vibes.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page